Skip to content

Explore Your Future!

We offer what you need to achieve success. Come explore and find out why so many students have decided to call one of the colleges in the Alamo Colleges District the pathway to their future.

Not sure where to start? Our Career Assessment Tool can help.

 
Close

Welcome to ACES

Alamo Colleges Education Services is a secure portal connecting Faculty, Staff & Students to Academic Resources, Email, and other Online Resources.

Support Contacts: Helpdesk: 210-485-0555 | Weather Line: 210-485-0189

Vertical_Bar

Login to ACES

Click Here to Login
For additional information, visit the Student Logins page.

Close

St. Philip's College Library

MLK Campus: 210-486-2330
Location: Center for Learning Resources (CLR)

SWC Campus: 210-486-7023
Location: Building 1-C123

Vertical_Bar
Close

The goal at the Good Samaritan Veterans Outreach and Transition Center (GSVOTC) is to provide free services to Veteran's and their families regardless of their affiliation with St. Philip’s College.

Mission Statement


We are here to connect Veteran's and their families with the information and services that will ensure them a smooth transition into civilian life.

History


The historic Good Samaritan Hospital was constructed in 1915 as the Corinth Baptist Church and in 1948 was converted to a hospital for African-American patients in response to segregation.

In December of 2011, the San Antonio City Council approved a partnership with the Alamo Community College District and St. Philip's College to renovate the former hospital into a veterans outreach center. The Good Samaritan Veteran's Outreach and Transition Center will provide personalized services to All Active Duty, Retired, Veteran's their families and the community in the greater San Antonio Area.

Upcoming Events:


Operation College Promise
Certificate for Veterans Service Providers (CVSP) Training – June 5-7, 2018
St. Philip’s College
1801 Martin Luther King Drive
San Antonio, TX 78203-2098
Registration: $550

* To Register, Go to: www.OperationCollegePromise.org* 

Program Content:

  • Module 1 – Military 101: A Primer on Military Culture
  • Module 2 – What’s New, What to Expect – An Update on the GI Bill and other Educational Benefits
  • Module 3 – Serving My Country – A Student Veterans Panel
  • Module 4 – It Takes a Village – Creating and Maintaining Effective Community Collaboration
  • Module 5 – Invisible Injuries of Contemporary Warfare
  • Module 6 – Resources for Transitional Success
  • Module 7 – Promising Practices for Campus Support Programming

For more Information, contact Wendy Lang: 609-777-5696, ext. 2227, or email: wlang@tesu.edu
** Featuring an Insider’s Tour of Joint Base San Antonio/Brooke Army Medical Center**

See what previous attendees say about the CVSP experience here: www.tesu.edu/military/ocp/testimonials.cfm

Host Hotel: Marriott Plaza, San Antonio, OCP Rate of $179 after May 10, 2018 – 210-229-1000

Contact Information


GSVOTC STAFF


William Moseley
Director
wmoseley1@alamo.edu
210-486-2506

Roberta Castaneda
Senior Advisor
rcastaneda15@alamo.edu
210-486-2242

Mark Trepanier
Veterans Service Specialist
mtrepanier@alamo.edu
210-486-2185

Location
202 Connelly Street
San Antonio, TX 78203
210-486-2185
SPC-GSVOTC@alamo.edu


VETERAN SERVICE PROVIDERS


Armed Forces Services Corporation
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm Rm 211

Financial Coach - CFPB:

David Sherman
210-486-2574
dsherman@afsc.com

Goodwill Industries of San Antonio
Monday-Friday 8am-5pm Rm 007 & 008

Veteran Program Specialist:

Eddie "EJ" Norman Jr.
210-486-2629
enorman@goodwillsa.org

Kenesha Sharp
210-486-2647
ksharp1@goodwill.sa.org

Grace After Fire:

Alamo Regional Outreach Coordinator
Mondays 9am-12pm Rm 210

Laly Cholak
210-247-7662
laly@graceafterfire.org

Veterans Administration
Tuesdays & Wednesday 8am-5pm Rm 212

Readjustment Counselors:

John Uriate, MSW, LCSW, BCD
210-486-2765
john.uriarte@va.gov

Daniel Dorado III, MA, MFT
210-486-2765
Daniel.dorado@va.gov

SCORE/SBA
Rm 004

Chapter Chair:
Chris Hughes
210-403-5931
Christopher.hughes@scorevolunteer.org

Community Justice Program
Wednesdays 9am-12pm Rm 004

Tashawna Campbell
210-227-8826
TashawnaC@sabar.org